Tunnel Vision

Yards Brewing IPA

Tonight I will have tunnel vision.

It’s a fun game us “craft beer enthusiasts” play. We toast each other on Untappd. We comment on each other’s posts (and you better comment on this one!). We fight amongst each other about whatever the hot topic is; you know like Cicerone certifications. You know the drill. It’s fun. I play it and love it. But at the end of the day when I sit down on the couch to watch whatever sporting event is on or reruns of Castle on TNT, I just want my damn beer.

It isn’t important who brewed it. The bottling date doesn’t matter. My glass choice isn’t being picked apart by someone who takes this game way too seriously. Because it’s just me and my 12 ounces of enjoyment. I put on my blinders and have tunnel vision.

I can forget about work. I can forget that I’m way overdue for a new post on this site. My dog still barks at me but I don’t mind filling her Kong up since the treats are on the table next to my beer. I might grab my phone and check it in, if I feel like it. But it doesn’t matter. All is right in the world.

If I never started this site or if I ran my own brewery that beer right then would taste the same. Yeah, maybe I’d analyze it more or less if either of those scenarios were the case but it wouldn’t change the beer.

Once the beer is done I could reach for another one. I could write a post or watch more Castle. However during those 12 ounces it doesn’t matter. Tunnel vision has taken over. That’s what I’m going to experience tonight and hopefully many more times.

4 thoughts on “Tunnel Vision

  1. Lovely!

    I think being an “enthusiast” as you put it, or at least an enthusiast in the right way, allows you to have it both ways. We can sit and totally nerd out on a beer, discuss it with friends, blog about it, fight about it, whatever. But, if you’re doing it the right way, you can still sit down on the couch and watch Firefly (Fillion was so much better in that show…) and just zone out. But that zoning is so much better with the other side of the coin of being a total nerd 🙂

    • I just started watching Firefly (I know there aren’t many to watch and I’m wayyyy late to the party) and I’m loving it. I’m 4 episodes in. Once baseball is over after tonight I’m going to tunnel vision my way through the rest of it and Serenity.

  2. “You know the drill. It’s fun. I play it and love it. But at the end of the day when I sit down on the couch to watch whatever sporting event is on or reruns of Castle on TNT, I just want my damn beer.”

    Couldn’t have said it better myself.

    As animated and “angry” as I seem on the internet, My vitriol is quickly diminished. I sit down with my beer in hand, watch @Midnight, and forget anything even happened.

    Wonderful post, as per usual, Josh.

Leave a Reply

