Lesson One: Cleansing the Palate

Tasting Beer Cover

Homework

Beer Advocate says there are five categories to reviewing a beer: appearance, smell, taste, mouthfeel and overall. I believe each one represents a certain percentage of satisfaction towards the overall pleasure you get from drinking a beer. Of these, taste is the most important.

My problem is that I don’t know how to properly taste a beer.

My solution is to learn from the best. From what I’ve heard Randy Mosher’s Tasting Beer: An Insider’s Guide to the World’s Greatest Drink is where to start. This book dives deeper than just how to taste beer but into where the taste comes from and beyond.

After I receive the book in 3-5 days I’ll come up with a short book report for you. Homework has been given. Class is in session.

One thought on “Lesson One: Cleansing the Palate

  1. Pingback: Triumphant by Chance | Short On Beer

Leave a Reply

