Some Notes on Being Busy

It’s Saturday night. My energy is slowly fading. My mind keeps reminding me there’s soo much to do. I’ve been running around all day having myself a nice little Saturday. I finally sat down and started jotting some private notes down about my day like I usually do and noticed something was terribly wrong. I was complaining about how “busy” I was. Then I was reminded of a Tim Ferriss podcast episode about being busy. For the life of me I can’t remember what episode.

Basically the episode was asking why are we so busy and what are we busy doing. Are these things really necessary? I think it’s time to take a step back and ask, what am I busy doing and are all of them necessary?

I want to make sure that I’m enjoying all the “stuff” that’s making me busy. I don’t need to and will spare you the laundry list of things filling up my hours. Instead, I want you to do what I just did…

Open up a beer. I grabbed a Heavy Seas Smooth Sail Summer Ale.

Stop and sit down.

Realize everything is going to be okay even if we don’t get everything done.

Now it’s time to go do something we enjoy. I’m writing and putting my words out there for the world.

Then assess what we’re doing and if we really need to do them. Chances are we don’t. Make sure you want to do them, or don’t do them at all.

Kinda off topic but if you haven’t watched this dog video that’s gone pretty viral recently you should. Puts life and stuff in perspective.

That’s it for me for tonight. Time to go enjoy the rest of Saturday’s ticking clock with my wife and dog. And not stressing about being busy.

Cheers, everyone. Hope you have a great rest of the night and weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

