Grains of Sand

GrainsOfSand

Last night was a relatively clear night as I walked Peyton across our neighborhood field. As I usually do I looked up at the sky, a nightly ritual I’ve come to look forward to on nights like this one. Staring up there reminds me of how infinitely tiny I am. I’m this inconceivably minute fraction of a grain of sand in this vast universe. Yet the only things that matter are the other pieces of sand and my experiences and relationships with them.

Sometimes certain sand grains can seem to sparkle brighter than others. Sometimes they are bigger than us. But they’re still sand. Maybe enough of us will stick together to create some sort of irritating rash on some galactic animal.

As grains of sand we can only do so much. So much good, evil, influence, etc. Sometimes we are in the right place at the right time to “make it.” When we make it we have to remember that anything and everything we do can, could and possibly should be analyzed and criticized. What should a piece of sand like this do? Be upset? Lash out? Fight back? I don’t think so. There is a place for sticking up for oneself and your beliefs. But the fact remains people will have opinions about you. And you know what? They might be right. Sometimes it’s best to just leave it alone. Maybe try to understand where they are coming from and make yourself into a better piece of sand.

Whatever happens we are grains of sand stuck together on a vast beach. The wind might blow and we’ll be swept away to a new part of the beach with new sandy friends (or foes). It doesn’t matter. Let’s just be sandy together and see where the wind takes us.

This post was written on my phone lying in bed late last night. I kept debating on whether or not to publish it and in my experience whenever I have to think this much about it then I should most definitely do it.

Leave a Reply

