April Dirty Thirty Day 3 – RJ Rockers Bald Eagle Brown Ale

Day three brings us…

RJ Rockers Bald Eagle Brown

RJ Rockers Bald Eagle Brown

RJ Rockers Bald Eagle Brown Ale

Critical Information:

  • 5.6% ABV
  • Available Year-round

My Experience:

– POUR

Poured from bottle into snifter (I think — can someone confirm from the picture??). Lots of head on this one. Minimal carbonation. Dark brown color that you can almost see through.

– SMELL

I snort the head into my nostrils and get lots of chocolatey-malt goodness. Then cough. It’s worth it. I can also sense some caramel and earthiness.

– TASTE

It has a soft touch to the palate and the chocolate and maltiness really comes through. After you swallow the flavors dance around for a few seconds before easing away.

– MOUTHFEEL

Despite the dark color and stylistic norms of a brown ale, this one is very light and airy. It’s not crisp like a pilsner but definitely one of the lighter brown ales I’ve had. I wouldn’t chug this beer but big gulps shouldn’t be shied away from.

– FOOD PAIRING

Roasted duck with white rice and soy sauce, one of my wife’s favorites, would go great with this. I think duck tastes great with anything though. I could do a burger with this as well. Side note — if you live near Leesburg and haven’t been to Melt yet, stop reading this, get in the car and go. If it’s in the middle of the night bring a six-pack and tailgate outside until they open. Yeah, it’s that good.

– OVERALL THOUGHTS

I got Bald Eagle Brown Ale because my wife’s favorite beer is Son of a Peach by RJ Rockers. Brown ales are one of my favorite styles as well and this one didn’t disappoint. It’s unfortunate I don’t see RJ Rockers on tap many places near me because they are two-for-two in my book. I can’t wait to try other ones by them.

Score: 7/10

Glad you’ve stuck with me into the third day of the April Dirty Thirty project. Keep the tweets and comments up guys, you’re doing outstanding! Remember to use #AprilDirty30. I’d love to hear your thoughts on this beer, what you had tonight, what you’ve tried recently, Washington Nationals, Baltimore Orioles, etc.

Leave a Reply

